top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllan Major

The Conjuring Universe: Watch the Movies in the Right Order

Featured Image For The Conjuring Universe: Watch the Movies in the Right Order.  Movie poster for 'The Conjuring' featuring an eerie, dilapidated farmhouse beneath a foreboding tree with a noose hanging from its branch, set against a foggy, overcast sky.
Beneath a sky of whispers, the house awaits, its windows like eyes and its secrets bound in the roots of the old, twisted tree.

Imagine a weathered, leather-bound tome filled with tales of dread – that's what The Conjuring Universe feels like. To truly unravel its terrifying brilliance, you need a map, a guide to the shadowy corners of this macabre world. Let this article be that guide, unraveling the chilling events in the order they unfolded within this horror filled world.

Chronological Order: Unlocking the Tapestry of Terror

While some might stick to the order the films hit the silver screen, the key to maximizing your terror lies in following the twisted in-universe timeline. It's a puzzle, each film a piece, revealing hidden connections and a growing darkness that will leave you clutching your seat in delicious fear.

Let's explore this twisted cinematic tapestry, year by chilling year:

  • The Nun (2018): Dive into 1950s Romania, where gothic terror awaits. It's here, beneath crumbling abbey stones, that the demonic Valak first reveals her unholy intentions, laying the foundation for future horrors.

  • The Nun 2 (2023):  The dread continues with the upcoming sequel, reportedly set in 1950s France. Delve deeper into the origins of Valak as the malevolent force behind the veil continues to spread.

  • Annabelle: Creation (2017): Journey to rural America in the 1950s. Witness the tragic tale of a dollmaker whose grief turns into a conduit for darkness – the birth of the cursed Annabelle doll.

  • Annabelle (2014): Leap to the 1970s as a young couple in California faces the wrath of Annabelle. The possessed doll's power to inflict terror is unleashed in its full, horrifying glory.

  • The Conjuring (2013): Enter 1971. Meet Ed and Lorraine Warren (played with masterful intensity by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga), real-life paranormal investigators. They confront pure evil to save a family from a demonic possession.

  • Annabelle Comes Home (2019): The year is 1972. Believing they've contained Annabelle, the Warrens lock her away. But they couldn't be more wrong. Annabelle's presence brings a symphony of terror as she awakens the dark forces in the Warrens' artifact room.

  • The Curse of La Llorona (2019): Take a slight detour in 1973 as the legend of the Weeping Woman unfolds. This chilling folktale of a vengeful spirit is firmly entangled in the wider universe, adding a unique flavor of dread.

  • The Conjuring 2 (2016): Join the Warrens in London, 1977, as they tackle the infamous Enfield haunting – a terrifying, well-documented case of possession that will shake you to your core.

  • The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021):  The 1980s call, plunging the Warrens into the Arne Cheyenne Johnson case – a chilling courtroom battle where demonic possession was used as a twisted legal defense for murder.

The Verdict

See the monstrous masterpiece laid bare? Chronological order makes every scare, every lurking shadow, hit harder. You descend into darkness where the lines between reality and the supernatural fade.

So, gather your courage, fellow modern horror aficionados. Embark on this terrifying journey. Just remember, the shadows hold secrets, and the terrors of the Conjuring Universe might linger long after the credits roll...


bottom of page